/ Award of Excellence

Award of Excellence

नेपाली फोटोग्राफीलाई सम्वृद्ध बनाउन योगदान गर्ने एक जना विशिष्ट व्यक्तिलाई हरेक संस्करणमा सम्मान गर्ने उद्देश्य फोटो काठमाण्डौले लिएको छ । श्रष्टाले  आफ्नै फोटोग्राफी सिर्जना मार्फत अथवा अन्य तरिकाबाट फोटोग्राफीको विकास-बिस्तारमा पुर्याएको योगदानका लागि यो सम्मान दिइने छ ।

यो सम्मानका लागि तपाईंले योग्य ठान्नु भएको व्यक्तिहरुको नाम प्रस्ताव गर्न हामी आग्रह गर्दछौं । तपाईंले तीन जना श्रस्टाको नाम प्रस्ताव गर्न सक्नु हुनेछ ।

फोटो काठमाण्डौ5 मनोनयन फारम: https://forms.gle/32ftB7v1sG6b13fN6
मनोनयन फारम पठाईसक्नु पर्ने अन्तिम मिति: शुक्रबार, २७ माघ २०७९


Each edition of PhotoKTM recognizes an individual who has contributed to the growth of Nepali photography. This contribution could be through the excellence of an individual’s photographic work, or initiatives that have nurtured the medium and helped Nepali photographers grow.  

We invite you to submit nominations of individuals who you believe embody the essence of this award. You can nominate up to three candidates.

PhotoKTM5 Nomination Form: https://forms.gle/32ftB7v1sG6b13fN6

Nomination deadline – 10th Feb 2023


The jury for PhotoKTM5 – Award of Excellence are:

Bikas Rauniar | Shruti Shrestha | Devendra Man Singh

Bikas Rauniar | Shruti Shrestha | Devendra Man Singh. Photo: Sagar Chhetri

Shruti Shrestha is a freelance photographer and educator based in Kathmandu. She has worked in the Nepali media for more than 16 years now — in media houses like the Kantipur Publications and Reuters News Agency. Currently, she serves as the chairperson of Photojournalist Club Nepal. She was awarded the Babu Chiri Photo Patrakarita Puraskar in 2011. She was also a part of the European Union Visitors Program in 2019 and awarded the Recognition of Excellence in Documentary Filmmaking, by the Australian Embassy, Australian Aid and Human Rights Film Center, in 2022.

Bikas Rauniar is a prominent Nepali photojournalist, having worked as a photo editor at Kantipur Publications for 20 years. His photographs have been featured in international publications such as The New York Times, LA Times, Sunday Times and Outlook, among others. Rauniar also served as the chairman for the National Forum of Photo-Journalists (NFPJ) in 2007-08.

Devendra Man Singh is a prominent Nepali photojournalist. He was associated with Agence France-Presse (AFP) as its Kathmandu-based photo correspondent from 1980 to 2007.


Recipients of the PhotoKTM Award of Excellence in previous years have included: 

2018 – Dr. Shahidul Alam

2016 – Mr. Shridhar Manandhar

2016 – Mr. Kiran Shrestha

2015 – Mr. Mani Lama